Tilting at Windmills, Part Three


This is a fascinating article about the controversies surrounding taking photographs in museums, particularly art ones. I will refrain from my own personal views, but I will say I agree with almost all of the author’s assertions. What are your thoughts?

Thinking about museums

This is the third and final part of a series of posts on issues in museums that I thought warranted a bit of unpacking. In the first post, I looked at “immersion” and at “experience” and “participation” in the second. I wanted to understand more about visitor picture taking in museums and this is the result. There’s a lot of rhetoric expended on condemning or extolling the practice, but not as much trying to get at why people take out the camera and click in a museum.

In this super-long post, which I beg your forgiveness for not making shorter or breaking into pieces, I want to explore the positions of the pro and anti visitor photography lobbies, make some observations and then look at the underlying motivations. In the end, I’ll propose that digital souvenirs are just the latest way people in museums memorialize the event, and that the social…

View original post 3,983 more words

Leave a Reply

