My Top 5 Mobile Apps


I was originally going to entitle this post “5 Great Mobile Apps for the Bored, the Slightly Addled, and the Disorganized…Basically 5 Apps for the Routine-Stricken Post-College Grad”, but I figured that was too wordy. I have a tendency to be long-winded (just ask my professors).

In any case, I’ve been in possession of a smartphone since November, and I am still enamored with it. Here are some of my favorite apps, some lesser-known, some well-known. I’ve chosen them based on utilization and/or entertainment value. Note, I have an HTC Droid Incredible 2 on the Android network.

1. Flipboard

I’m not much for apps that combine social networking, news, and whatnot, but the Flipboard app is simply stunning. The app works like a flipbook; you choose what content you want to see from your favorite websites and social networks (works GREAT with Facebook and Twitter). It’s fully customizable, and you even get a quick preview of the latest updates. Even better, you can interact with all stories within the app including commenting/liking on Facebook, retweeting on Twitter, or sharing the story using any method. Definitely the best gem I’ve discovered for a while.

Personally, I have a lot of history websites linked including Medievalists.net and others and a great deal of travel sites like Lonely Planet. That, and I have my social networks attached as well. You can also have simple categories of stories including news, technology, Flipboard favorites, etc.

2. Zedge

Zedge is the best app that I’ve found for free wallpapers and ringtones (besides the Make-Your-Own function on Myxer). You can easily search by category or song for media items that interest you. Users rate the media so you know that the quality of the item is good. I’ve never had a real problem with any of the ringtones I’ve downloaded from the app. Definitely a keeper!

3. ColorNote

This app has been my saving grace when it comes to remembering things. I am used to having sticky notes ALL over the place, and this app allows you to write yourself reminders and even color code them. You’re able to “stick” any note to your homescreen and then archive it as needed. Furthermore, you can even set reminders if you STILL don’t think you’ll remember something important.

4. Pocket

I just discovered this app via Flipboard, and it simply allows one to save any article or page to it. Then, one can access it later. It syncs to your computer, tablet, and phone which makes it super convenient to access saved goods. I have not explored this app that much, but it seems very, very useful.

5. Lil’ Kingdom

This is a casual, level-building game. Created by Glu Mobile, the whole point of the game is to build as many levels as you can. You can build entertainment, castle, food, service, crafting, and other floors and fill them with citizens. The graphics are adorable, and the game play is seamless and easy-to-maneuver. It doesn’t take long to catch up on once or twice a day. What struck me the most is the fact that one basically builds their own underground castle. Maybe it’s not useful beyond an entertainment purpose, but it is the one game I’ll check in with at least once a day.

One thought on “My Top 5 Mobile Apps”

Leave a Reply

