Blog Update, Revamp, Reconstruction!! Also, Looking For Talented Writers!


Okay, so now that I’ve had a breather from work and looking for work and grad schools and all that jazz, I will be revamping My Life is History in the coming weeks. First, I’ve redone the layout (though that has resulted in the loss of one or two pictures…how sad!) and have added a page for my resume and will be dividing up my links page into several new ones, focusing mainly on medieval and early modern European history and primary source links. Keep an eye as I begin my overhaul!

Also, there is another little-used blog I started last year on castles. I’m working on getting that one back up to speed, seeing as it’s been MIA for about a year. I’m working on a post on Kenilworth Castle but will be expanding out into other castles as time and research materials allow.

Finally, I am looking for talented individuals who are interested in submitting their own posts to be featured on the website. I will be updating each blog at least once a week, but I would love to feature a new post from an outside blogger per week as well. The criteria for allowable posts would be as follows (hold your breath…!):

1. It MUST be on a history-related topic, whether history careers, living history, interpretation, history history, military history, what have you. Yes, this is my personal blog, but this is also a blog related to history and nothing else.

2. It has to have a point. I’m not here to spill the latest gossip on Justin Bieber or Jersey Shore or fashion trends. A good post could be a mini-bio on your favorite obscure person in history or a detailed discussion on your latest reenacting toy acquisition or a breakdown of the political candidates for this year’s election. I’m not picky. But I’m a historian by trade and training, and I want readers to learn something other than what someone  had for breakfast. Save that for #Twitter.

3. It has to be written as if for an educated audience. No “lols” or text-lingo. Seriously, no one wants to read that.

4. Have fun! The above may sound picky, but it’s common sense, really. I’m not the grammar-Nazi of blogging or anything. I just want quality posts. Be dorky, nerdy, anything. I’d love it!

Now, if you’re interested in contributing something to this blog or to Of Castles and Crowns, feel free to comment on this post or email me at awilliam@pio.carrollu.edu with your ideas. I will respond promptly (seeing as I am an admitted email-Nazi).

I’m excited to see where this goes, and I’m equally excited to have my readers come along for the ride!

One more shameless plug. If you haven’t liked  “My Life is History” on Facebook, go to the right-hand side of the page, and click “Like”. I post random links, new posts, things like that. I promise, I won’t clog up your feed with nonsense…most of the time. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Blog Update, Revamp, Reconstruction!! Also, Looking For Talented Writers!”

  1. Rosemarie,

    I would be so happy if you would like to write a post about Mr. Henry VIII! If you write one up, I’d be more than happy to take a gander and post it ASAP! 🙂

Leave a Reply

